The Home of American Intellectual Conservatism — First Principles

December 11, 2018

Page 3 of 3
Earhart Foundation
Lee Edwards - 12/22/11

Among those supported by Relm-Earhart over the decades have been six Nobel laureates in economics: F. A. Hayek, Milton Friedman, George J. Stigler, James M. Buchanan, Ronald H. Coase, and Gary Becker. Since the early 1950s, more than 2,500 graduate students have received assistance as H. B. Earhart Fellows. In the field of political philosophy, support was extended to Leo Strauss and Eric Voegelin. In international affairs, the work of Peter Bauer was funded along with such institutions as the Mont Pelerin Society and the Institute of Economic Affairs in London.

In 1964, the Relm Foundation joined the Intercollegiate Studies Institute (then known as the Intercollegiate Society of Individualists) in creating the Richard M. Weaver Fellowships, of which almost four hundred have been awarded, including those awarded to Edwin J. Feulner, president of the Heritage Foundation, Larry Arnn, president of Hillsdale College, and James Gwartney, author of one of the most popular college economics textbooks in the country.

One of those who received an Earhart fellowship in 1960 was Thomas Sowell, probably the most influential black conservative intellectual in America. When Richard Ware retired as Earhart president in 1985, Sowell wrote him that the foundation’s support had made “the difference between my finishing and not finishing my graduate work.” In a larger context, added Sowell, Earhart was one of the few institutions “that helped keep alive certain kinds of scholarship that might otherwise have been buried under the prevailing academic orthodoxy and intolerance.” In so acting, Sowell said, the foundation “rendered a service not simply to individual scholars but to the nation.”

Page 3 of 3

Library of Modern Thinkers Logo

By clicking the logo above to shop, every purchase helps to support ISI.

Intercollegiate Studies Institute • 3901 Centerville Rd. • Wilmington, Delaware 19807-1938 •
Please direct all inquiries regarding First Principles to [email protected].